Pin it

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

DISCLOSE Act passes U. S. House 219-206

The U. S. House voted 219-206 to pass H. R. 5175, the DISCLOSE Act, a blatantly "unconstitutional" and "unprincipled" piece of legislation. In the North Carolina Congressional delegation, 5 voted for and 8 voted against the DISCLOSE Act.

The members voting to limit our free speech rights were: Reps. Bob Etheridge (D-2), David Price (D-4), Larry Kissell (D-8), Heath Shuler (D-11), and Brad Miller (D-13).

Those members voting against this infringement of our free speech rights were: Reps. G. K. Butterfield (D-1), Walter Jones (R-3), Virginia Foxx (R-5), Howard Coble (R-6), Mike McIntyre (D-7), Sue Myrick (R-9),Patrick McHenry (R-10), and Mel Watt (D-12). To communicate your appreciation or disapproval for your elected member's vote on the DISCLOSE Act, go here and follow the link.

The bill now moves to the U. S. Senate for consideration. Please contact your N. C. Senators, Kay Hagan (D) and Richard Burr (R) to ask them to vote "NO" on the DISCLOSE Act. For contact information, go here and follow the link.

To understand why both National Right to Life and North Carolina Right to Life oppose the DISCLOSE Act, go here.

No comments:

Post a Comment